Gushee, Puleio Win Inaugural Charlie's Cup Titles

Sep 16, 2021

The inaugural Charlie’s Cup wrapped up today with a one-day shootout at Augusta CC to determine the men’s and women’s champions for the year. In its first year of existence, the Charlie’s Cup is a year-long points competition similar to the FedEx Cup on the PGA Tour. Points were awarded in most men’s and women’s MSGA Play Days throughout the year, with gross and net points given across different flights in every eligible tournament.

The top men’s and women’s finishers from the end of the regular season earned a berth in the invitation-only finals at Augusta. Double the points were available in this final event, giving players a chance to move up the standings and make a late push for the Charlie’s Cup. For those without a chance to claim the season-long title, the Final still served as a one-day tournament replete with prizes. Between the year-long points race and the one-day Final, thanks to the sponsorship of Charlie’s Motor Mall, the MSGA was able to give away $5,000 in prizes during the 2021 Charlie’s Cup.

Zibby Puleio (Old Marsh CC) entered the Charlie’s Cup Final with an insurmountable lead and won the men’s title after a dominant regular season. The win comes with a $400 MSGA voucher credit and the title of Charlie’s Cup champion. Finishing in second place in the year-long race was Brian Bilodeau (Martindale CC).

The women’s race was much tighter coming into the Final, with just a half point separating first from third with one event to go. With points in the Final counting twice as much as a normal Play Day, it was anyone’s title to grab entering the day. When the dust settled, it was Wendee Gushee (Spring Meadows GC) who won the Charlie’s Cup on the women’s side. Gushee came in second net in today’s event, one stroke ahead of Vicki Greer (Riverside GC), which proved to be the difference in claiming the women’s title and the same $400 prize.

Click on the links below to see the results from both the season-long points race and the one-day event at Augusta CC. The MSGA would like to thank all of today’s participants as well as Charlie’s Motor Mall for their sponsorship of this exciting year-long event!

ONLINE: Charlie’s Cup Final Standings | Scoring for the Finals


Season-Long Charlie's Cup Prize Winners

 Position   MEN     WOMEN 
1  $           400  Zibby Puleio   $           400  Wendee Gushee 
2  $           350  Brian Bilodeau   $           300  Vicki Greer 
3  $           300  Gary Lamberth   $           250  Kathleen Rokowski 
4  $           250  Craig Lapierre   $           200  Liz Coffin 
5  $           200  Dennis Dery   $           150  Maureen Collins 
6  $           150  Steven Andreasen   $           100  Helen Treadwell 
7  $           125  Lou McDonald   $             75  Linda Holmes 
8  $           100  Justin Conant     
9  $             75  Kevin Nickerson     
10  $             50  Jon Garrity