Plourde Captures Second Maine Women's Amateur Title

Jul 23, 2021

Despite a heavy mist on the first day of play at the Maine Women’s Amateur at Bangor Municipal GC, Bailey Plourde of Sheepscot Links fired an even-par 71, the lowest round of the tournament, and never looked back. Contenders Kristin Kannegieser (Portland) and Ruby Haylock (Turner Highlands) turned in scores of 74 and 75.

With a 72 on Tuesday (the second lowest round of the tournament), Plourde picked up another two strokes on Kannegieser and three on defending champion Haylock, who shot 75 for the second straight day. So, when the three teed off on Wednesday, Plourde led Kannegieser by five strokes and Haylock by seven. 

All three shot 38 on the front side, and soon after Plourde birdied the tenth hole, Kannegieser and Haylock knew they were in a battle for second place. Haylock’s consistency paid off, and her third 75 was just enough to edge out Kannegieser by one stroke.

Plourde was disappointed with the eight she scored on the final hole of play. She was able, however, to put a positive spin on it as she said with a wry smile, “I birdied my third ball.” With a three-day total of 219 (+6), Bailey Plourde took home the 2021 Maine Women’s Amateur. 

In a reversal of roles, Plourde outdistanced runner-up Ruby Haylock by six strokes. Haylock had bested Plourde in a playoff last year at Augusta. The win gives Plourde her second title, claiming her first at Rockland in 2018. She dedicated her win to her grandfather in an emotional tribute. Explaining the nature of his golf advice to players and fans at the awards ceremony, she said, “When I left one short, he said, ‘Hit it harder’; and when I blew one by, he said, ‘You hit it too hard’.” 

Erin Leland (Val Halla) and fourteen-year-old Alexis McCormick (Turner Highlands) shot 74s on Wednesday, the low rounds of the day.  

The championship also recognized four flight winners and runners-up.

Flight 1: Kristin Kannegieser, champion
Leslie Guenther, runner-up
Flight 2: Jade Haylock, champion
Hannah Noonan, runner-up
Flight 3: Danielle Rock, champion
Makenzie Plourde, runner-up
Flight 4: Ann Anthony, champion
Michelle Boggs, runner-up

ONLINE: Scoring | Photos