Three Tied for Amateur Lead After Round 2

Jul 14, 2021

BAR HARBOR – On a day that felt more like early October in Bar Harbor, Kebo Valley Golf Club offered a stern test to the state’s top golfers during the second round of the 2021 Maine Amateur Championship. With strong winds, rain, mist and fog, players were tested with some very difficult scoring conditions. When the dust settled and the field of 132 players finished, three players all looking for their first Amateur title will head into tomorrow’s final round tied for the lead.

One player was overheard on the deck after the round saying that Kebo is “the hardest 6,100 yard course you’ll ever see.” The scoring backed that up today, as players dealt with tough conditions right from the get-go.

Joe Alvarez (Webhannet GC) was out in the second group of the day today and played a very steady round that featured just two bogeys and one birdie. The round of 71 paired with his opening 72 has him at 143 (+3). Round 1 leader Caleb Manuel (Brunswick GC) struggled early, making the turn in four over par to relinquish his overnight lead. Despite four back-nine birdies, Manuel made a double and triple bogey on his back nine to come back to the field. His second round 75 goes with his opening 68 to put him also at 143.

Will Kannegieser (Portland CC), playing alongside Manuel the first two days, had the low round from the field on Wednesday, firing a score of 70. He paired three birdies with three bogeys to make it a three-way tie atop the leaderboard. 

The three leaders have all won numerous MSGA championships in the past, but all are seeking their first Amateur title. They will head out last at 9:40 am. Playing ahead of the leaders in the second-to-last group will be Andrew Slattery (Portland CC), the 2014 champion, who sits in fourth after rounds of 72-73 – 145. He’ll be joined by Mike Doran (Brunswick GC) at 147 and Ryan Gay (Augusta CC) at 148. Gay won the Amateur the last time the event was held at Kebo in 2010.

The field was cut to the top 40 players and ties after the conclusion of 36 holes. The cut was exactly 40 players this year, with all players scoring 153 or better advancing to the final round. All players who advanced from the cut will receive an exemption into next year’s championship at Webhannet GC.

ONLINE: Starting Times | Scoring | Past Champions