Two Teams Tie at Senior Four-Ball Championship

Jun 22, 2021

The MSGA championship season is in full swing right now, with events happening all around the Pine Tree State. The Senior Four-Ball took place on Tuesday, June 22 at the venerable Poland Spring Resort, where teams of two players competed in an 18-hole tournament using a best ball format. At the end of the day, two teams finished atop the leaderboard with a score of 65 to finish as co-champions. With a score of -6, Scott Dewitt & Keith Patterson (Biddeford-Saco CC) shared the honors with Dick Bachelder (York G&TC) and Jim McFarlane (Purpoodock Club).

Despite making a bogey on the opening hole, Dewitt had the low round of the tournament, making seven birdies on the day for a 65 on his own ball. The first hole was the team’s lone dropped shot of the day. Patterson added three birdies of his own, though they all fell on the same holes as the red hot Dewitt. He joked afterward about riding his partner all day long to the team score. The duo has had past success in the regular Four-Ball Championship (formerly called the Two-Man), having won six times dating back to 1999.

Keith Patterson & Scott Dewitt 

Bachelder and McFarlane had a more traditional round of four-ball, sharing the load along the way to their 65. McFarlane birdied the first hole of the day and made five on his round. Batchelder chimed in with three birdies of his own, and between the two of them none of their birdies overlapped. However, the duo dropped two shots on the day to finish at -6 and earn the co-champion title.

Dick Bachelder & Jim McFarlane

Rain fell later on in the day, but that didn’t stop Jim Caron and Craig Lapierre (Gorham CC) from winning the net title. The duo shot a score of 60 (-11) to win by two shots over four teams.

ONLINE: Scoring and Results | Past Champions