Maine Women's Amateur Preview

Jul 14, 2020

The Maine State Golf Association is excited to host the 2020 Maine Women’s Amateur Championship at Augusta Country Club on July 20-22.

Last year’s MWA was held at Webhannet GC and was won by Jordan Laplume of Old Orchard Beach. The 18-year old who plays out of Dunegrass CC shot rounds of 74-69 en route to a score of 143 (-1) to beat runner-up Carrie Langevin by eight strokes. Last year’s event was truncated to only 36 holes after the second round was washed out by rain. It was the first MWA title for Laplume.

The Maine Women’s Amateur is a 54-hole stroke play competition. This year’s field is comprised of 90 players from across the state of Maine. There will be no cut in this event, and prizes will be awarded in four flights based on handicap index.

Fun Facts:

• The field is comprised of 90 players representing 32 different golf clubs from around Maine.

• Biddeford-Saco and Turner Highlands have the most players in the field from their respective clubs, with 8 players each. Purpoodock and Wawenock are next with 6.

• Ten of Maine’s 16 counties have at least one player in the field.

• There are two sets of sisters competing in the championship. Sue Wootton and Nancy Carlson from Rockland GC, and Ruby and Jade Haylock from Turner Highlands. The Haylocks' mother, Heidi, is also in the field to round out the family affair.

• The oldest player in the field is Marcia Blake (81), and the youngest is Jade Haylock (13). The average age for the field is 52.

• Bailey Plourde, the champion in 2018, is the only player in the field with a Handicap Index lower than scratch (+0.2). The average Handicap Index for the field is 15.4.

Field: The field is made up of 90 players from the following golf clubs, with the number of players from that club in parentheses: Augusta (2), Bangor Municipal (2), Biddeford-Saco (8), Brunswick (1), Cobbossee Colony (1), Dunegrass (2), Dutch Elm (3), Falmouth (2), Fox Ridge (4), Hermon Meadow (3), Martindale (4), Mingo Springs (1), Natanis (4), Nonesuch River (1), Northport (1), Old Marsh (1), Portland (2), Prouts Neck (1), Purpoodock (6), Riverside (2), Rockland (2), Sanford (1), Sheepscot Links (1), Springbrook (3), Spring Meadows (1), St. Croix (1), Turner Highlands (8), Val Halla (4), Waterville (1), Wawenock (6), Webhannet (2), Willowdale (1), The Woodlands (4).

Championship: 90 players competing over 54 holes of stroke play.  The course will play as a par 73 and will measure around 5,300 yards for the championship.

Tee Times: Play will go off the 1st tee each day from 7:30 am to 12:20 pm.


ONLINE: Round 1Tee Times | Scoring from 2019 MWA