Pearson Leads Mid-Amateur After Round 1

Sep 21, 2019

AUBURN – Though the club affiliation next to Jace Pearson’s name on the leaderboard reads Martindale CC, he has plenty of experience around Fox Ridge GC, host site of this year’s Mid-Amateur Championship. Pearson is a former member at Fox Ridge and has four club championships to his name over the years, which makes his score of 70 (-2) no surprise to anyone looking at the leaderboard after round 1.

ONLINE: Tee Times | Online Scoring | Past Champions

Using birdies on 8 and 9, Pearson made the turn at two-under 34. After a birdie on 13, he made his lone bogey of the day on the 16th hole to post even par on the back. His two-under 70 leaves him one stroke clear of Scott Sirois (The Woodlands Club), who carded the only other under par round on Saturday. Sirois is a former winner of this event, having won this event in 2009 at Penobscot Valley CC.

A quartet of players sit just two back of Pearson after rounds of even par, including former Maine Amateur champions John Hayes IV (Purpoodock Club) and Andrew Slattery (Martindale CC). Joining them after carding 72 are Brian Bilodeau (Martindale CC) and Ryan Wingard (Val Halla GC).

Wingard had the most memorable round of the tournament on Saturday, shooting sides of 41-31 to post an even par 72. After finding himself at 7-over through 7 holes, he rattled off five birdies and an eagle over his last 11 holes to rally back to even par and give himself a chance going into tomorrow’s final round.

This event features the top players in the state aged 25 and older in a 36-hole stroke play competition. This marks the first time that Fox Ridge has hosted this event and the first time an MSGA championship has been played here since the 2017 Four-Ball Championship.

In this last individual MSGA championship of the season, there are also three exemptions on the line for players not already qualified for next year’s Maine Amateur Championship. The top three finishers that aren’t already exempt will earn an invite into the Amateur at Biddeford-Saco CC next July.

Tomorrow’s final round will commence at 7:30 am.