2019 Senior Amateur Championship Preview

Sep 9, 2019

The Maine State Golf Association is hosting the 58th Maine Senior Amateur Championship at York Golf & Tennis Club on September 10-11, 2019. The Donald Ross-designed course opened in 1900 and has previously hosted the Maine Amateur and Mid-Amateur Championships in addition to the New England Amateur and Senior Amateur Championships.

Last year’s Senior Amateur Championship was held at Waterville CC and was won by Len Cole with a score of 143 (+3). He defeated runners-up Mark Plummer and Tom Palmer by one stroke. Cole (2018) and Plummer (2007, ‘08, ’11, ’12, ’17) are two of eight past champions of this event in the field this year. They are joined by Brent Mohr (2000), Lowell Watson (2001, ’14), Paul Pelletier (2004), Jim Quinn (2009), Gary Manoogian (2015), and Ron Dery (2016).

This championship is a 36-hole stroke play competition. In addition to the overall winner being named the Senior Amateur Champion, players will also compete in flights based on age, with prizes awarded for low gross and net finishers.

ONLINE: Tee Times | Past Champions | Scoring


Field: The field is made up of players from the following 32 golf clubs, with the number of players from that club in parentheses: Aroostock Valley (1), Augusta (5), Biddeford-Saco (12), Boothbay Harbor (1), Brunswick (3), Cape Arundel (1), Diadema (1), Dutch Elm (2), Falmouth (7), Fox Ridge (1), Gorham (2), Highland Green (1), Kebo Valley (1), The Ledges (1), Martindale (1), Nonesuch River (3), Old Marsh (1), Palmyra (2), Penobscot Valley (3), Portland (3), Purpoodock (4), Riverside (4), Salmon Falls (2), Springbrook (1), Sunday River (1), Val Halla (3), Waterville (3), Webhannet (1), The Woodlands (2), York (8).


Championship: 85 players with 36 holes of stroke play.  The course will play as a par 70 and will measure around 6,000 yards for the championship. Players will be re-paired for the second round based on day one scores.

Schedule:        Tuesday, September 10          7:30 a.m. to 12:10 p.m.                                                           Wednesday, September 11     7:30 a.m. to 12:10 p.m.