2019 Charlie's Maine Open Underway at Augusta

Aug 20, 2019

The Maine State Golf Association is very pleased to be hosting the 101st Maine Open at Augusta Country Club on August 19-21, 2019. The event is being presented again this year by title sponsor Charlie’s Motor Mall of Augusta. The championship kicks off on August 19 with a Pro-Am to benefit the MSGA Scholarship Fund, which has given more than $1.7 million to deserving Maine students since its inception in 1950.

ONLINE: Tee Times | Online ScoringPast Champions | 2018 Results

The Maine Open is the longest standing championship conducted by the MSGA, dating back to the first year of the tournament in 1918. It has been held every year since then, with the exception of 1943 during World War II. This will be the 16th time that Augusta CC has hosted the Maine Open, including the last seven years. The Maine Open was first contested at Augusta CC in 1934.

Last year’s championship at Augusta CC was won by Matthew Campbell of Clifton Park, NY with a score of 129 (-11). Campbell made birdie on the first hole of a playoff against Peter French to claim his second Maine Open title. He won at Augusta CC three years prior in 2015. 

In all, this year’s field is comprised of 105 players. There are 69 professionals and 36 amateurs in the field. Five of the professionals are members of the Maine Chapter of the New England PGA. Two of the amateurs this year are females, as this is the first year that women have been admitted into the championship. The field has players representing 16 different states and three countries.

The Charlie’s Maine Open is a 36-hole stroke play competition. There is no cut for professionals. All amateurs that return a score of 79 or better in the first round will return for the final round on Wednesday. The first prize in this year's event is $7,000.

Past Champions in the Field:

Matthew Campbell (2015, 2018)
Jim Renner (2009)
Ricky Jones (2006)
Shawn Warren (2004)
Geoffrey Sisk (1998)
Don Robertson (1981)


Monday, August 19 Pro-Am; 1:00 pm shotgun
Tuesday, August 20 Round 1; Tee times 7:00 am to 12:40 pm
Wednesday, August 21 Round 2; Tee times 7:00 am to 12:40 pm