Biddeford-Saco Wins Club Team Championship

Jul 1, 2019

BELGRADE LAKES – On another Maine day that featured some inclement weather disrupting an MSGA championship, a team from Biddeford-Saco CC prevailed through the difficult conditions to claim the 19th Club Team Championship. Playing in a best two-of-four balls format, the team of Brian Angis, Zach Golojuch, Joe Hamilton, and Jimmy Quentin shot a score of 132 (-10) to win the title. On the day, the team made ten birdies and didn’t drop a single shot.

This marks the first time that three of the team members have won an MSGA championship. Hamilton was part of the winning team from 2005 in this same event when he won as a 20-year old playing with three other Biddeford-Saco members. Also of note was the MSGA connection among the winning team’s roster. Golojuch, Hamilton, and Quentin are all former interns with the MSGA and spent many collective summers running championships with the association.

The quartet eked out the win over last year’s defending champions from Martindale CC. Joe Baker, Craig Chapman, Jace Pearson, and Andrew Slattery, carded 133 in a valiant effort of their title defense.

A second team from Martindale CC came in third place, as Brian Bilodeau, Kyle Bourassa, Jeff Cole, and Matt Greenleaf shot 135 (-7).

On the net side of the event, Gorham CC took it deep under par, shooting a blistering score of 118 (-24) to win comfortably over the second place team. Mike Arsenault, Jim Caron, Craig Lapierre, and Kevin Nickerson edged Turner Highlands CC to win the net title.


ONLINE: Tee Times | Scoring | Past Champions