Maine Finishes Second at Women's TriStates

Jun 20, 2019

The 2019 Women's Tri-State Matches will be played right here in Maine on June 18-19 at Brunswick GC.

The championship is a 36-hole, team match play event played with handicaps over two days with two different formats. Thirty Maine players and two alternates will be selected for the team. On day one, teammates will go out in sixsomes. Playing a Chapman alternate shot, both Maine players will tee off every hole, select a drive, and alternate shots until the ball is holed out. They will compete in two matches concurrently, one against New Hampshire and one against Vermont.

The Maine women put up a strong fight during the final round of the TriState championship. Day two consisted of singles matches with each Maine player competing against both New Hampshire and Vermont. Four Maine players, Erin Weimer, Marlene Viger, Diane Herring, and Jade Haylock all carded six points for the Maine team, surpassing both competitors in each of their matches. While Maine was a point and a half ahead of New Hampshire after the first round, the women from the Granite State came in hot during the final round with a nine point advantage over Maine. 

ONLINE: Final Scores

On day two, singles matches will be played in threesomes. The Maine player will compete in one match against New Hampshire and in another match against Vermont.

Players compete in one of three divisions:

Division A:           0.0 to 14.9           10 players
Division B:           15.0 to 21.9         12 players
Division C:           22.0 to 30.0           8 players

Schedule of Events:

June 18: Alternate Shot matches

June 19: Singles Matches


Team Maine is represented by the following players:

Division A:

Kristin Kannegieser, Martindale CC

Erin Weimer, Nonesuch River GC

Ruth Colucci, Biddeford-Saco CC

Kathi O'Grady, Woodlands Club

Kathy Crawford, Dunegrass GC

Micki Meggison, Purpoodock Club

Heidi Haylock, Turner Highlands CC

Peggy Wilson, Biddeford-Saco CC

Nancy Carlson, Rockland GC

Division B:

Nancy Hart, Hermon Meadow GC

Susie Gravel, Augusta CC

Madolin Fogarty, Rockland GC

Joy Eon, Biddeford-Saco CC

Sherrie Thomas, Penobscot Valley CC

Marlene Viger, Bangor Municipal GC

Susan Wootton, Rockland GC

Diane Herring, Hermon Meadow GC

Bambi Stevens, Turner Highlands CC

Marcia Blake, Brunswick GC

Catherine Studley, Riverside GC

Vicki Linquist, Natanis GC

Division C:

Birdie Pearse, Goose River GC

Irene Schultz, Links at Outlook

Jade Haylock, Turner Highlands CC

Sue Coffin, Penobscot Valley CC

Kathy Sproul, Sheepscot Links GC

Donni Witham, Rockland GC

Bobbi Berry, Sheepscot Links GC

Norma Michaud, Springbrook GC