Maine Amateur Championship Tee Times and Preview

Jul 8, 2018

The Maine State Golf Association is very pleased to be hosting the 99th Maine Amateur Championship for first time in the event’s storied history this year at Belgrade Lakes Golf Club on July 10-12. The central Maine golf course opened in 1999 to rave reviews and has been named amongst Golf Magazine’s top 100 public courses in the U.S., in addition to being named the #1 course in Maine.

RELATED: Starting Times for Rounds 1 & 2 

Last year’s championship was held at Brunswick Golf Club and was won by Jack Wyman with a score of 211 (-5). Wyman is in the field again this year to defend his title, and will join Ron Brown, John Hayes IV, Ricky Jones, Mark Plummer, and Andrew Slattery as the only former champions in the field of 132 players.

In all, there were 55 exempt players to register, and 77 who earned their spots at qualifiers in June held at Biddeford-Saco CC, Poland Spring GC, and Waterville CC.

This championship is a 54-hole stroke play competition. The field for the championship will be cut to the low 40 two-day scores, plus ties, for Thursday’s final round. Any player that makes the cut will be exempt from qualifying for the 2019 Maine Amateur Championship at Portland CC. Additionally, the top 16 and ties will earn a berth in the 2018 Match Play Invitational, to be played at Falmouth CC in August.

 Fun Facts:

  • The field is comprised of 132 players representing 47 different golf clubs from around Maine.
  • Sable Oaks GC has the most players in the field with 10, followed by Falmouth CC with 9, and Biddeford-Saco CC, Brunswick GC, Martindale CC, and Val Halla GC with 8 each.
  • 12 of Maine’s 16 counties have at least one player in the field.
  • There are two sets of brothers competing in the championship; Joe and Mike Walp from Falmouth CC, and Eric and Gavin Dugas from JW Parks GC. There is one father and son duo in the field; Tim Estabrook and his son Ben, both from Penobscot Valley CC.
  • The oldest player in the field is Ron Brown (69), and the youngest are Cade Charron, Thomas Higgins, Caleb Manuel and Armand Ouellette (16). The average age for the field is 34.7.

Field: The field is made up of players from the following golf clubs, with the number of players from that club in parentheses: Augusta (5), Bangor Municipal (1), Barnes Brook (3), Bath (1), Belgrade Lakes (1), Biddeford-Saco (8), Boothbay Harbor (2), Bridgton Highlands (1), Brunswick (8), Cobbossee Colony (1), Dunegrass (2), Dutch Elm (1), Fairlawn (1), Falmouth (9), Fox Ridge (1), Freeport (1), Hidden Meadows (1), Houlton (1), JW Parks (2), Kebo Valley (1), Lakewood (1), The Ledges (2), Martindale (8), Natanis (1), Nonesuch River (3), Norway (2), Old Marsh (1), Penobscot Valley (4), Poland Spring (2), Portland (6), Presque Isle (1), Prouts Neck (2), Purpoodock (5), Riverside (3), Rockland (2), Sable Oaks (10), Samoset (4), Sanford (1), Springbrook (1), The Woodlands (3), Turner Highlands (1), Val Halla (8), Waterville (5), Wawenok (1), Webhannet (2), Willowdale (2), York (1).

 Championship: 132 players with 54 holes of stroke play.  The field will be cut to 40 and ties after 36 holes.

 Times: Tuesday, July 10         7:00 a.m. to 2:10 p.m.

Wednesday, July 11    7:00 a.m. to 2:10 p.m.

Thursday, July 12        7:30 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. (approx..)

Course: From the Belgrade Lakes GC website:

“From day one, Belgrade Lakes has been recognized time and again as one of the country’s premier golf courses. The accolades began almost immediately when Golf Digest recognized us as one of the five best new courses in the country in 1999. Following up on this tremendous honor, course architect Clive Clark was voted #1 in Golf World’s “25 Hottest Architects of the Year” in 2001. And soon thereafter in 2002, Golf Digest awarded the course a coveted five-star ranking. Over the years, Belgrade Lakes has been named amongst Golf Magazine’s top 100 public courses in the U.S., and has been named the #1 course in Maine.”

The course will play as a par 71 and will measure around 6,600 yards for the championship.