26 Players Qualify for New England Amateur

Jun 18, 2018

Kennebunk – On the first day of qualifying for the 2018 New England Amateur Championship, being contested from July 17-19 at Portland Country Club in Portland, Maine, a total of 26 competitors at Kennebunk’s Webhannet Golf Club earned entrance into the Championship Proper. Five others earned alternate will be placed on a priority list per the Alternate Policy, which can be found on the New England Golf Association Policies and Procedures Page.

ONLINE: Qualifying Results | Event Home

Celebrating its 89th year, the New England Amateur Championship is one of the oldest 72-hole amateur championships in the country. The Championship Proper field is comprised of exempt competitors as well as those who advance through qualifying.

On this day in Maine, Reese McFarlane of Purpoodock Club (ME) was one of four players to register an under-par round, earning medalist honors after posting a score of 5-under par 65. Anthony Burnham (Falmouth CC) turned in a score of 4-under 66, while Jason Gall (Portland CC) and Drew Powell (Penobscot Valley CC) both finished at 3-under par 67.
One notable qualifier from the site was John Witt (Cape Arundel GC) – a recent high school graduate who nearly holed out his tee shot on the short par-4 16th hole and followed up with an eagle 3 on the short par-5 17th. His eagle-eagle-par finish lead him to a made cut at 74.
Reese McFarlane (Purpoodock Club (ME)) 65
Anthony Burnham (Falmouth CC (ME)) 66
Jason Gall (Falmouth CC (ME)) 67
Drew Powell (Penobscot Valley CC (ME)) 67
Gavin Dugas (J W Parks GC (ME)) 70
Brian Bilodeau (Martindale CC (ME) 71
Marty McGuckin (Webhannet GC (ME) 71
Tim Acquaviva (Webhannet GC (MA)) 72
Joshua Trivilino (Sanford CC (ME)) 72
Rob Parsi (Stow Acres CC (MA)) 73
Tim Desmarais (Riverside GC (ME)) 73
Harvin Groft (The Oaks Golf Links (NH)) 73
Josh Kibbe (Hoodkroft CC (NH)) 73
John Gilmartin (Indian Ridge CC (MA)) 73
Ryan Wingard (Val Halla GC (ME)) 73
Thomas Bean(Biddeford-Saco CC (ME)) 73
Zack Luce (Willowdale GC (ME)) 74
J.D. Walker (Portland CC (ME)) 74
Justin Irish (Old Marsh CC (ME)) 74
John Witt (Cape Arundel GC (ME) 74
Nate McCue (Brunswick GC (ME)) 74
Brian Angis (Biddeford-Saco CC (ME)) 74
Caleb Manuel (Brunswick GC (ME)) 74
Eric Lifson (Nashawtuc CC (MA)) 74
Owen Elliott (Andover CC (MA)) 74
Alec Brunelle (Atkinson Resort & CC (NH)) 74
Ryan Anderson (Beverly Golf & Tennis (MA)) 75
Tommy Ethier  (Nashua CC (NH)) 75
Armand Ouellette (MSGA Juniors (ME)) 75
John Donahue (Charles River CC (MA)) 75
Drew Kane (Prouts Neck CC (ME)) 75
Three additional New England Amateur qualifiers will be held between June 18 and June 26 at clubs across New England.

6/18 - Agawam Hunt Club (RI)
6/25 - Orange Hills Country Club (CT)
6/26 – Blackstone National Golf Club (MA)