Baker, Doran Win Four-Ball Championship

Auburn—Joe Baker (Martindale CC) and Mike Doran (Sable Oaks GC) apparently like playing golf in Auburn. The duo teamed up to win the 2017 MSGA Four-Ball Championship at Fox Ridge today, shooting 67 in the final round to capture their second title in three years in this event. Their two-day total of 136 (-8) beat Lance Bernier (Boothbay Harbor CC) and Dustin Freeman (The Ledges GC) by one stroke.

Baker and Doran won this tournament two years ago the first time the event was contested at Fox Ridge. After a slow front nine shooting one under, Baker birdied the 10th hole then followed it with a holed wedge from 90 yards on the 11th for an eagle. Both birdied the 13th to get one more before parring out to win by one.

Tim Desmarais (Riverside GC) and Reese Macfarlane (Purpoodock Club) tied with Ashley Fifield (Sable Oaks GC) and Mike O’Brien (Sable Oaks GC) for third place at -6.


Day one notes: 

Brian Angis and Joe Hamilton got off to a slow start, but finished with a late run of birdies to take the lead after the first round of the 2017 Four-Ball Championship at Fox Ridge GC. The duo from Biddeford-Saco CC played steady on the front nine with eight pars and one birdie, but rode the hot hand of Angis for four birdies on the last five holes to shoot 67 (-5) and take a one stroke lead into tomorrow's final round. Jayson Adams (Penobscot Valley CC) and Chris Taylor (Fox Ridge GC) sit just one shot back after a 68 (-4) to join the leaders in tomorrow's final pairing.

Three teams sit two shots back after rounds of 69, which means that tomorrow's final round has many potential outcomes on the difficult layout at Fox Ridge.

About the event:

The 25th Four-Ball Championship will be played Friday and Saturday, June 16-17, at Fox Ridge GC in Auburn. Two-player teams will compete in four-ball stroke play, often referred to as best ball. Each player will play his own ball, with the better score counting on each hole for the team score. This marks second time Fox Ridge has hosted this event, the last time in 2015. 

Click here for second round starting times and live scoring.

Recent Four-Ball Championship winners:

2016: Jason Gall & Scott Sirois
2015: Joe Baker & Mike Doran
2014: Ashley Fifield & Mike O’Brien
2013: Joe Alvarez & Mark Plummer
2012: Brian Bilodeau & Phil Bilodeau