JW Parks Wins 2017 Club Team Championship

Belgrade Lakes, ME — The team from JW Parks GC had three of the four youngest players in the field, but played well beyond their years to capture the 2017 Club Team Championship at Belgrade Lakes GC. Gavin Dugas just returned from a top twenty finish at the NCAA Division III Golf Championship on Friday, and followed up his stellar play in Florida with five birdies to help his team post a score of -9 to win the team event. Playing along with Dugas were his brother Eric Dugas, Carter Pearl, and Bob Ballard. This marks the first win ever in this event for JW Parks.

The Club Team Championship consists of teams of four players belonging to the same club competing in a best two balls-of-four format. Despite the sunny skies and perfect weather for the day, the wind proved to be tough for the players. Nonetheless, Pearl added three birdies and an eagle on the par 5 3rd hole to the mix. Eric Dugas added two birdies along with Ballard’s one. The team got to -9 despite four team bogeys.

The team from Penobscot Valley CC (Casey Catell, Len Cole, Jason Harvey and Will Hutchins) came in second place for the second straight year, finishing at -6. In third place were the teams from Augusta CC (Jason Gall, Sean Goggin, Mark Plummer, and Roger Williams) and Sable Oaks GC (Jeff Cole, Mike Doran, Ashley Fifield, and Matt Greenleaf).

Winning the net side of the event was the team from Toddy Brook GC with a score of -19, represented by Jared Antill, Wayne Steele, Casey Walton and William Webber.

This marks the 13th time that Belgrade Lakes GC has hosted the Club Team Championship. Tomorrow, May 22, will be the 3rd time hosting the Senior Club Team Championship. The golf course opened in 1998 to rave reviews, and was recently ranked by Golf Digest as one of the top 100 public golf courses in the United States.


Click here results to see complete results.


Club Team Championship – Quick Facts

Recent Champions

2016: Martindale CC (Joe Baker, Brian Bilodeau, Jace Pearson, Andrew Slattery)

2015: Sable Oaks GC (Jeff Cole, Mike Doran, Ashley Fifield, Matt Greenleaf)

2014: Martindale CC (Brian Bilodeau, Will Kannegieser, Andrew Slattery, Andrew Stonehouse)

2013: Augusta CC (Tom Bean, Mark Plummer, Jason Gall, Ryan Gay)

2012: Augusta CC (Tom Bean, Mark Plummer, Jim Quinn, Jason Gall)


Golf Clubs Represented (31)

(3) Falmouth, Penobscot Valley

(2) Biddeford-Saco, Cedar Springs, Fox Ridge, Sable Oaks, Sugarloaf, Turner Highlands, Val Halla

(1) Aroostook Valley, Augusta, Bangor Municipal, Barren View, Bethel Inn, Brunswick, Cape Arundel, Deep Brook, Dutch Elm, Gorham, JW Parks, Martindale, Northport, Norway, Presque Isle, Rockland, Samoset Resort, South Portland Municipal, Toddy Brook, Waterville, Woodlands, York

Youngest Competitors

(17) Eric Dugas and Carter Pearl (JW Parks)

Oldest Competitors

 (72) Nick Carparelli (Bangor Municipal) and Brent Mohr (York)