Player of The Year

Ruth Colucci Named Inaugural Winner of Women's Player of the Year Award

(From November 1, 2018)

CUMBERLAND – With the 2018 women’s season wrapping up after a busy year, the Maine State Golf Association is pleased to announce Ruth Colucci (Biddeford-Saco CC) as the inaugural winner of the Women’s Player of the Year award.

The MSGA has given accolades over the past decades to the top men’s players in the state, bestowing the Dr. Leonardo Buck Player of the Year and Senior Player of the Year awards to the top performers throughout the calendar season to the players who accrue the most points competing in MSGA events. With this year’s merger of the MSGA with the two former women’s golf associations (SMWGA and WMSGA), it was only fitting to create a new award to crown the top performer in the year-long women’s season.

ONLINE: Final Standings for Women's POY

Much like the men’s Player of the Year awards, points for the women were awarded in nearly all events to the top gross finishers in MSGA competitions. Championship events such as the Maine Women’s Amateur and Janet Drouin Memorial awarded more points due to their prestige, but all events offered some points to the top finishers, allowing players the chance to accumulate points all through the season. Colucci was a steady player throughout the season en route to earning the Player of the Year award.

Colucci is originally from the island of Kosrae in the Federated States of Micronesia but has lived in Maine since 1993. She’s won the last “four or five” club championships at Biddeford-Saco CC, but admits that winning isn’t the most important thing to her. “I always try to have fun on the golf course,” she said. “When I’m out there I want to have a good time, play my game, and enjoy the time spent with my friends.”

Ruth Colucci2018 MSGA Women's Player of the Year

In all, Colucci competed in 16 MSGA women’s events in 2018. She won an impressive seven of the 13 Tuesday events she entered this year, including a season-low 73 at Toddy Brook.  In the women’s championship events, her top results were 6th in the Maine Women’s Amateur and 5th in the Janet Drouin Memorial. When the dust settled on the 2018 campaign, Colucci finished 30 points ahead of runner-up Bailey Plourde to make her the inaugural MSGA Women’s Player of the Year.

When asked who she has to thank for her success this season, Colucci credits her late husband, Joe, who passed away from cancer in 2016. He was an avid golfer himself and taught the game to Ruth 17 years ago. “He taught me a little too well, as I beat him occasionally,” she admitted with a laugh. She didn’t play much in the last few years, but was back on the course regularly this year as a promise to him that she wouldn’t give up on the game they both shared and loved.

The loss of her husband taught Ruth that “life is short,” which is her motto to this day. “The golf course is a place of happiness,” Colucci said. “That’s why I smile and have fun and enjoy the time with my friends every time I play.”