2008 Charlie's Maine Open

John Hickson finally did it. After years of being a contender, he soundly garnered the Charlie's Maine Open Championship on Friday at Fox Ridge with a six-under par three-round total of 210. Rich Parker, playing in the third group, put together a string of birdies on the back to move up into second place with a 212, whilc three players -- Jeff Seavey, Shawn Warren and Eric Egloff -- tied for third at 214.

Hickson also won the Maine Chapter Pro award while Keegan Fennessey, who shot even par 216, won the low amateur awards.

Meanwhile in the Davis Richardson Senior Division of the Charlie's Maine Open, host pro Bob Darling took home the crystal for the second straight year, as he finished for three days at 227. Both Darling and Dave Grygiel tied for the 36-hole championship at 150, but Darling had a better score in the final round, which was used as a tiebreaker for the crystal -- the two will split first place money.

In the Richardson Senior Amateur Division, Mark Plummer, playing with Parker in the third to last group, finished at  three over 219. The Richardson Senior Division is named in honor of longtime MSGA employee and Maine Golf Hall of Fame member Davis Richardson, without whose help the Maine Open would not have been as successful as it has been over the years. The seniors compete for a $5,000 purse over 36 holes of competition and can still move on if they make the cut for the tournament proper. The sponsorship allows the players to win two prizes without having to pay an additional entry fee.

Parker, who was paired with Plummer all three days, said he really enjoyed the tournament and his fellow competitor. "We have the same type of playing style," Parker said, "And then Mark was quiet before he said, 'You're a much better putter.' From that point on, I made everything because he made me feel like I really was a good putter. The $4,200 I won will put a new roof on my house."

Charlie's Motor Mall of Augusta sponsors the tournament, for which the Pro Am is the largest fundraiser for the MSGA Scholarship Fund. The MSGA is continually grateful to Charlie Shuman and all of the tournament sponsors for their continued support. Without their help, this tournament would not be possible.

Please find to follow complete results from the final day of the tournament.

John Hickson, Topsham, Maine - 69-68-73--210
Rich Parker, Lebanon, N.H. - 70-73-69--212
Eric Egloff, Sandy Spring, Md. - 70-76-68--214
Jeff Seavey, Homosassa, Fla. - 68-70-76--214
Shawn Warren, Windham, Maine - 66-71-77--214
Robert Kalinowski, Lynnfield, Mass. - 69-72-74--215
David Thomas, Ozona, Fla. - 74-68-74--216
Keegan Fennessy (a), Minot, Maine - 74-72-70--216
James Gilleon, Franklin, N. H. - 71-73-73--217
Ricky Jones (a), Thomaston, Maine - 72-72-73--217
Jimmy Burke, Newton, Mass. - 71-74-73--218
Brian Medley, Albuquerque, N.M. - 73-70-76--219
Jerry Diphilippo, Gorham, Maine - 76-71-72--219
Kevin Durkin, Boca Raton, Fla. - 74-71-74--219
Mark Plummer, Augusta, 06 - 71-73-75--219
Joshua Cupp, Rome, N.Y. - 73-74-73--220
Jim Fairbanks, Portland, Maine - 74-73-74--221
Joseph Alvarez (a), Hampden, Maine - 75-74-72--221
Mark Alizzeo, Shrewsbury, Mass. - 71-73-77--221
Ross McGee, Fairfield, Maine - 74-76-71--221
Benjamin Day, Cheshire, Conn. - 75-73-75--223
Rob Roylance, Old Orchard Beach , Maine - 74-75-74--223
John Arnette, Jacksonville, Fla. - 75-75-75--225
Abbie Valentine, Bayville, N.Y. - 73-77-76--226
Bob Darling, Lewiston, Maine - 74-76-77--227
Eric Higgins (a), Kennebunk, Maine - 75-73-79--227
Ryan Gay, Pittston, Maine - 75-79-73--227
Jason Powell, Jupiter, Fla. - 76-73-79--228
Sam Weiss (a), Blue Hill, Maine - 77-73-80--230
David Grygiel, N. Windham, Maine - 72-78-81--231
Ronald W. Kelton (a), Cape Elizabeth, Maine - 76-76-79--231
Christopher Thomas, Clermont, Fla. - 75-73-84--232
David Gushee (a), Gorham, Maine - 78-77-77--232
John Ellis, III (a), Belfast, Maine - 77-77-78--232
Johnny Hayes (a), Cape Elizabeth, Maine - 76-77-79--232
Jace Pearson (a), Auburn, Maine - 73-80-82--235
Curtis Jordan (a), Minot, Maine - 75-80-81--236
Kevin Byrne (a), Winslow, Maine - 75-79-82--236
Gary Manoogian (a), Westbrook, Maine - 77-76-84--237
Michael Amato (a), Blue Hill, Maine - 81-74-84--239
Roland Duquette (a), South Portland, Maine - 75-78-87--240
Andrew Morse, Auburn, Maine - 71-74-NS--NS