97th Maine Amateur Championship


img Charlie's
Maine Open Championship

Augusta Country Club
July 25-26, 2016
  Starting Times
  ♦ Round 2 Times
  ♦ Round 1 Times
  ♦ Final Results
  ♦ Scores
  ♦ Scores (Alphabetical)
  ♦ Course Statistics

Results Archives Past Champions Photo Albums Conditions of Competition

2016 Charlie's Maine Open Wrapup


Day Two Notes: 


imgTed Brown of Glen Allen, VA made his third trip to the Charlie's Maine Open one to remember, carding 67 in the final round to win Maine's premier professional event by one stroke at Augusta CC on Tuesday evening. Brown slept on the overnight lead with two other golfers and outlasted the field of 150 to claim the crystal trophy with a two day total of 133 (-7). Brown went out on the front nine with four birdies against one bogey to shoot 32 before slowing down on the back. He rebounded from a bogey on 13 with one last birdie on 16, which ended up being the deciding shot for the event. Jon McLain and Nicholas Pandelena finished in a tie for second place after both carding rounds of 68-66--134. One shot further back at 135 were 2013 Maine Open champion Evan Harmeling, Spencer Mellon and Colin Brennan.


Ricky Stimets and Daniel Augustus both shot the best rounds of the championship on Tuesday with 65, vaulting themselves into the money.


Shawn Warren of Cape Elizabeth took home the title of low Maine Chapter Professional with a two round total of 138. A triple bogey 7 on the third hole derailed him early, but he rebounded with six birdies coming in to finish in the red for the tournament.


imgJack Wyman of South Freeport took home low amateur honors for the second time in his young career, but his top 10 overall finish that got him the low amateur distinction may have been the second best part of  his day. Playing in the tournament-within-the-tournament, Wyman vaulted two players in the two year long race in player of the year points to grab the last available spot in the 2016 USGA State Team Championship. His back-to-back rounds of 68 put him at T7 overall for the tournament, which garnered enough points for him to join fellow Mainers Ricky Jones and Andrew Slattery at the biennial event in Alabama this coming September.


The MSGA would like to thank the grounds crew, staff, and the membership at Augusta CC for once again making their course a welcoming and fair challenge to the talented professionals and amateurs that comprise the field. We'd also like to thank Charlie's Motors for their continued support of this great championship which players herald as one of their favorite stops among all New England tournaments.


For final results from this year's 2016 Charlie's Maine Open, click here.

Day One Notes:

A trio of players in the afternoon wave carded rounds of 66 (-4) to take the overnight lead at the Charlie's Maine Open at Augusta CC. Ted Brown (Glen Allen, VA), Joshua Eure (Crofton, MD) and Jason Thresher (West Suffield, CT) all played their way into tomorrow's final pairing with the low rounds of the day on the classic layout. Two Mainers sit one shot back at 67, with Cape Elizabeth's Shawn Warren and Damariscotta's Malcolm Oliver leading a group of five at three under par.


Eleven players sit one shot back at 68, including three former champions in Matthew Campbell, Evan Harmeling and Ricky Jones (a). Jack Wyman (a) shares the amateur lead with Jones, one ahead of Sam Grindle, who was the only other amateur under par. The amateur cut fell at 74 to determine who plays again tomorrow.


In all, 26 players broke par during the first round, meaning that the championship is still up in the air heading into tomorrow's final round. One low round could be all it takes, much like defending champion Matt Campbell did in 2015 with a final round 63.


Playing in the final grouping of the day, Christopher DeForest of Cottekill, NY had the shot of the championship, acing the par 3 seventh hole en route to an opening 69. img


In addition to trying to play alongside the professionals and show they’re just as talented, the amateurs in this week’s Charlie’s Maine Open also have a lot to play for. The 2016 Player of the Year race concludes on July 31, which means this event is the last major tournament where golfers can make a move up in the standings. The Player of the Year points list determines who will make the annual Tri-States team, which pits the top golfers from Maine against New Hampshire and Vermont’s top amateurs.  This year’s event is scheduled to be player here in Maine at Belgrade Lakes GC, which is giving players extra incentive to make a final push. Also at stake are the remainder of the available spots for next month’s Match Play Invitational at Brunswick GC.


The July 31 date is also the cutoff for points to determine the three-man team that will represent Maine at the 2016 USGA State Team Championship. Two players – Martindale’s Andrew Slattery and Samoset’s Ricky Jones – have already booked their tickets to the biannual event, but a handful of amateurs in the field are within striking distance of the third available spot. Joe Alvarez, Jeff Cole, and Jack Wyman are all looking for a big finish to claim some last minute points to join Slattery and Jones in Birmingham, AL in September.


For pairings and live scoring, click here.


To view pictures by New England Golf Images go here,


Championship: 156 players, 120 pros and 36 amateurs with 36 holes of stroke play


The 2016 Charlie's Maine Open returns to Augusta Country Club for the fifth time in the past 50 years. Augusta Country Club was one of the original eight clubs that formed the Maine State Golf Association in October of 1917. Today "the Country Club" is known as one of the premier golf clubs in Maine. Members and their guests enjoy the scenic and challenging golf course designed by a collection of internationally renowned designers. The front nine holes were designed by Wayne Stiles and John Van Kleek and the back nine were designed by Donald Ross. Picturesque views of Lake Cobbosseecontee and challenging terrain make this course enjoyable for round after round.


The Maine Open has been held at ACC a total of eleven times. Previous winners were: Ernest Newnham (1934), Larry Rowe (1937), Willie Wansa (1941), Les Kennedy (1948), Charlie Shephard (1949), Jerry Gianferante (1952), Art Butler (Amateur-1952), Bill Eznicki (1960), Dustin Cone (2012), Evan Hammerling (2013), Andrew Mason (2014) and Matt Campbell (2015).


The championship will be a 36-hole stroke play event. The MSGA reserves the right to have a cut for professionals if conditions warrant. Amateurs will be cut after 18 holes to the low 20 plus ties. In the event of a tie for the championship, play will immediately continue hole-by-hole until a winner is determined. The Pro-Am on Sunday, July 24th, 2016 will be by invitation only.





Campbell Fires Blistering 63 en route to 2015 Open Victory 


With eight birdies, five of them coming on the back nine, Matthew Campbell from Rome, NY, soared to the top of the leaderboard in the Charlie's Maine Open final round at Augusta Country Club on Tuesday.

And then he had to wait.    more...

Mason fires 62 to capture Open shootout


Andrew Mason from Pennsylvania teed off at 2:20 pm in Tuesday's only round of the Charlie's Maine Open. Less than five hours later he was being presented the trophy as the 2014 Charlie's Maine Open Champion using 10 threes en route of an outstanding score of 62 to win by two.          more...

Harmeling takes his second Open victory of the summer


Evan Harmeling from Andover, MA, won his second New England state Open today, winning the Charlie's Maine Open with a seven-under par 133.

And this time, maybe he'll keep the check more...










 Wyman Dentistry
(207) 725-4204



 imgimg img